Many processed foods and ready-made meals contain preservatives and chemicals.

What are the advantages to this?

Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

A lot of prepackaged even ready to cook food items are rich with different types of food additives. Adding such chemicals in foods enhances the appearance, taste also they can be stored for a longer period. But these chemicals may cause harmful effects on human health if their amount exceeds the threshold value. I believe when preservatives and chemicals are used within the limit or these are added by strict supervision have certain advantages as well as they outweigh disadvantages.

Additives in food are common to increase the food value in terms of look, nutrition, and preservation time and their usage can be traced to the Egyptian or Roman empire. Coloring additives are used to increase the appeal of food to the eye. Ascorbic acid used in fruit juices, mainly, has Vitamin C, alpha-tocopherol is another name of vitamin E, beta-carotene is another source of Vitamin A and they are common in pasteurized milk, bread etc. In addition that food additives such as preservatives (butylated hydroxyanisole, formaline etc.) can help in reducing food spoilage as well as food decay. Also, a variety of food items would be available around the year, if preservatives are used.

On the other hand, most of these additives if applied too much will not only increase the taste or appearance or storage time but also will cause harm to human health. Such as, if butylated hydroxyanisole has overdosed it may cause cancer, carbide another chemical used to mature unripened fruits is poisonous to the human body. Moreover, often manufacturers are found to be using food color to beautify decayed food items and sell them to the consumers, this tactic is also used to reduce organic food content too. Recent studies revealed that monosodium glutamate sodium (applied to increase flavor) is responsible for increased number of obsessed people and asthma patient. Researchers also related butylated hydroxytoluene to attention deficit hyperactivity disorder(ADHD) in young children.

Overall, using food additives are necessary for the food industry to increase food value and to prolong storage time at a low cost. But alternative natural chemicals are needed to be invented for replacing harmful chemicals such as butylated hydroxyanisole, carbide, butylated hydroxytoluene etc.. In addition to that, we need more strict quality control when it comes to food additives for minimizing health risk related to overdose.