Many small local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this affect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

It is true that the majority of the small shops are unable to cope with enormous supermarkets in the region in a rapidly changing world. Although there will unquestionably be repercussions of this trend in local communities, the government can take steps to mitigate the potential problems.

Since there are many issues that local communities encounter due to the closure of local shops several related drawbacks can be anticipated. Firstly, it could be argued that large shopping malls bring different vendors under a single roof and offer a spectrum of products. Therefore, the competition could take place in an unfair environment and supermarket chains will begin to corner the market. This will lead to the major companies have the final say on pricing. Under these circumstances, it is almost impossible to compete with big supermarkets which causes the local shops to close down due to lack of business. Another pressing problem could be thought that small businesses serve an important function in keeping the economy of local communities stable. In fact, local shops are vital because numerous factories rely on them to sell their products. Thus, without these small businesses, many plants will threaten to be closed. As a result of this fact, a considerable amount of laborers might lose their jobs and become a social burden. For example, it has been shown that in some underdeveloped countries, the local people significantly hinge on small businesses. Therefore, without these local businesses, the living standard would deteriorate.

There are several actions that the government could take to resolve/mitigate the drawbacks depicted above. Initially granted, it could be asserted that delimitation should definitely set measures to the prices of essential products and monitor them strictly. This will give assurance that supermarket chains cannot dictate the pricing and eventually local shops can maintain their existence. Another measure could be considered that subvention by the government might considerably help the local shops to purchase goods and as a result, increasingly people will be attracted to start such shops and eventually this will alleviate unemployment.

In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems that are certain to arise as competing with supermarkets.