Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

When students get to the age of going to university, there are two possible options: some will decide to start their first year at the school immediately and the rest will begin to work or plan to travel. In my point of view, the second one is such a waste of time because pupils don’t use their precious time wisely, resulting in them being confused with their preparation when most of their friends already finish it. In this essay, I will give my own opinion on this topic and some reasonable explanations.

Instead of visiting somewhere or working at a store, students should use that time for preparation as it is the most significant step to get ready for university. Since they already give themselves enough time to relax in the summer, so there’s no need to spare more time for yourself. Additionally, they may feel embarrassed if they don’t know how to pack their suitcase or which things to take, etc. Moreover, finding a suitable accommodation can become the biggest problem to them unless they come to the location early. Because of these reasons, getting prepared for everything is the best thing to do than wasting time on meaningless activities.

Besides, students should free some time to learn how to live alone despite of using their free time with friends or working as a novice. The reason for this is their parents always take care of them well resulting in being lack of survival ability. Students who are going to live far away from home need to bear the homesickness and get used to doing household works such as: washing clothes, dishes, etc. As they can’t back home more often because of their study process, they have to get accustomed to doing these things and experience a hard life as a freshman.

In conclusion, it is better to spend your first-year learning at university by being well-prepared and provide yourself with essential tips for daily life than going on vacation or going to work. In the end, it is always you who defines everything so think hard and make a satisfied choice.