Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university to travel or gain work experience Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time Give reasons for your answer and include any your relevant examples from your own knowledge or exper

Nowadays taking a year off before enrolling into a university is commonly practiced by most of the students across the globe to explore new places or to get work experience.

I believe, having a prior work experience help in selecting one's field of interest and travel can be considered as a refreshment, however today every student, pursuing university degree can work along with their studies, which is a great idea to do instead of taking a study break.

Many student these days prefer to work in their field of interest before they join a university. This makes it easy for some in deciding the course that is right for them. So, instead of just joining a course straight after completion of school, a proper outlook towards a job responsibility and the work culture in a particular field, helps to make an easy decision. Also, for some when applying for job, having a work experience can prove to be an advantage amongst the fresher. Some even think to travel to other country for an adventure before getting into the busy schedule of studies and work. For example, students enrolling in Doctorate program will not find time for themselves for next 5 to 7 years because, of the study load. So, in order to enjoy for few months, one has to waste a whole year, which is not quiet justifiable.

On the other end, those students who opt to work without a degree in hand, lands them self into a basic job work. In other words, without any professional skills, one will have to work at a lower position. These jobs are usually include the positions like, cashier, waitress or a cleaner. For instance, a survey conducted by Times jobs stated that majority of students who works without a graduate degree often ends up with the survival jobs rather than the professional ones. Doing such jobs is not wrong, however one can get into these kind of work along the side of their studies, so it is better to consider enrolling in to a degree program and continue working at these level.

In conclusion, today every student can work along with their studies, which gives them an opportunity to explore their area of interest side by side. However, those selecting to drop from studies for a year to gain work experience are wasting their time, as these positions are basic and do not offer any advantage on their resume. So, one must find a balance in their study and work life to have a better opportunities in future.