Many university students live with their families while others need to live to live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages both situations.

University students are no longer a child not a mature adult. The determination of places to live of them can be divide into two particular methods. There is a large proportion chose to stay in the dormitory on Campus, while the other of these young people prefer to continue staying with family. There are pros and cons in both of these decision.

Look at the advantages of sharing residences with families first. Living with parents may help students reduce the financial burden. Consequently, students can save their budget on buying favorite things or travelling in holidays without worrying about accommodations. Family members live together often experience the emotional bonding and protection, therefore students utterly be safe in their own home. On the other hand, being protected by family may cause students lack of real-life skills, such as surviving without certain technology, home repairing, first aid or time management... Moreover, because of the distance from home to university, it would take time for student to travel daily. Sometimes, due to the uneasy weather condition or inconvenient traffic, students are probably to be late for school or even play truant. As a result, living in comfort zone might make students passive and lazy.

Students away from home have a likelihood of having more freedom compared to when living at home. They can spend time doing mostly whatever they want, such as drinking, partying, and being in a relationship without permission from parents. In other words, once students make their own decision and be responsible for themselves, they are more self-independent. However, because of not being completely mature, the young people might encounter difficulties in new life, while support in necessary circumstances from families are hardly immediate accessible. For example, students like partying or drinking alcohol may have a chance of meeting lousy people who seem kind and friendly at first glance. Students should be aware of that, as their parents can no longer take care of them. And finally, there is a fact that living alone is expensive than staying with family. Since have to pay, at least, for rent, groceries and medical insurance, students need to improve money management skill to avoid unexpected financial stress.

Overall, there are advantages and disadvantages of both living with or away from family. Students and parents should take this into consideration and careful preparation before deciding.