Many of the world’s cities are currently facing a serious housing shortage.What are some of the reasons for this shortage and what solutions can you suggest?

Accommodation shortage is one of the most unresolvable problems in many cities. In this essay, some reasons for this phenomenon will be illustrated as well as its solutions.

There are several apparent reasons for the shortage of housing. Firstly, the increase in population is not under control. Obviously, since the baby-boom happened, it has been predicted that unavailable space or land for housing is unavoidable. In fact, the goverments has legislated to build high-rise building of apartments to house extra citizens. However, the budget is not always in hand and to compound the problem, not everyone can afford this kind of accommodation. Another reason is that the migration also plays a major role in triggering this phenomenon. It is the tendency that people from rural areas are attracted by a bunch of beneficial conditions from cities as push factors. For instance, they believe that living in cities can provide them with best health care, proper education oppotunities and then changing their lives. Therefore, cities are overloaded with crowds.

To resolve this tough issue, I personally support the family planning which each family should have no more than 2 children. However, many people argue that reproducing is part of human nature, and they must not be prohibited in term of reproducing. That is why rather than putting families under pressure of law, compliments or even rewards can be given to the stereotype families. Moreover, controling the population of migrants should be taken into consideration. In fact, some countries have done this before. For example, Trump, the recent America President, has enforce the migration laws to foreigners, especially Mexicans, by restricting the number of visa. And the result is undeniable, he has solved the issue and kept migrants under control.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons leading to housing shortage and above measures are suggested to tackle the issue effectively.