Many young children today leave school with a negative attitude towards

learning.

Why is this happening?

What can be done to encourage young people to have a positive attitude

towards learning?

Recently the phenomenon has aroused widely that there is a number of people who dropout of school with a negative attitude towards learning. This essay would like to look into some of the causes and give some possible solutions for it.

Part of the explanation lies in the heavy curriculum at school. With most of the subjects being theoretical, children have not only to take part in a lot of classes at school but also do a huge amount of assignments at home. As a result, going to school makes children suffer from anxiety and stress, which leads to an pessimistic reaction towards studying. Furthermore, students are not taught the practical uses of the knowledge they have learnt. Consequently, children consider attending an academic path is useless as it does not provide necessary skills for their future career.

There are some ways to address this situation. First, assignments and examinations should be cut down. Instead of spending all day on doing homework, students should be encouraged to take part in more extra curricular activities with their friends to free their mind. The second thing is to make the lessons more interesting. For instance, putting videos and images helps students understand the lessons easier and more effectively. Besides, students should be provided more vocational skills and the application of them to understand how important approaching scholastic programmes is.

From what has been discussed above, we may draw a conclusion that a heavy and impractical school syllabus has contributed to the phenomenon and some measures should be produced to tackle it.