Many young people change their jobs and careers What are the reasons for this Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

There exists an ongoing tendency that young people change their jobs on a regular basis before settling for a longer-lasting or permanent one. This phenomenon can be elaborated by several reasons and I stand by the view that it equally has both drawbacks and positive impacts on the youth.

To commence with, the practice of people usually changing their jobs stems from various motives. The first and foremost convincing explanation is that most young people don’t have a defined career. Most youngsters don’t draw a clear career path for themselves. They tended to choose the same specialties at university with their friends without knowing clearly what that major really is or what their true passion is about. Consequently, they may have no interest in the job they’re working or fail to gain job satisfaction from the jobs that they really hate. Then in the end, they have to try a few ones until they find a desired job. The second worth mentioning is that due to the impracticability of the education systems, especially in Vietnam, what students learn in classes might have no connectivity with what they will work in the future. It is reported in many research findings that the education in Vietnam is just virtually focused on the heavy theoretical knowledge without any applicability. Therefore, fresh graduates are totally shock and lack of the ability to cope with the tasks given at their companies. It leaves them no choice but to voluntarily change their jobs for more career advancement.

I personally opine that this heated trend brings both benefits and detriments. On the positive side, people can benefit from a new job as it gives them chances to gain practical knowledge and meet mixes of different backgrounds who can help them in their future career path. Moreover, new jobs also offer them new motivation to be excited and productive at work again when the old job has become too dull for them. On the slip side, we have to admit that experience gained from old job may be irrelevant to the new job, which turns them to be a newbie. The application process of a new employment can be difficult due to the poor record of previous job retention.

In conclusion, based on the aforementioned discussion, one may conclude that people’ changing- job practice has its own pros and cons, which means that young job seekers have to think twice before making their own decision of finding another career.