Mobile phones and the internet are very useful.However,its rare for the old people to use them.In what ways can mobile phone and the internet be useful to the old people?what could be done to encourage the old people to use mobile phone and internet.

In the modern age, advanced technology such as mobile phones and the internet have been integrated into the lives of people. However, we have to admit that elderly citizens are still less accessible to those technological tools despite the benefits they may bring. Some of the positive impacts of cellular phones and webs on old people will be discussed before feasible measures are recommended to encourage them to be more dependent on those technological innovations.

To commence with, mobile phones and the internet can facilitate long- distance communication, allowing the old inhabitants to connect with their offspring and their friends no matter where they are. My grandmother, for example, cay stay in touch with me through text- messaging or video calls even though she is living abroad now. This was never the case in the past when people rarely had a chance to meet up or communicate with anyone outside of their circle of community. In addition, internet is a tremendous source of reading materials, which would be heaven for elderly citizens who are in favor of reading habit. Just by a click to search on internet, the aged population can access a wide range of reading resources with various contents to keep abreast of the latest news or to entertain themselves when they are from work. Many digital publications are free or cost little. In deed, the availability of thousands of documents, provided domestically or internationally could bring users unlimited choices without the need to buying printed paper newspapers from different press agencies.

In order to encourage old people for using such facilities, companies should concentrate on developing easy to use web applications or the phones. For instance, they can develop the phones with big keypads and the internet apps that provide information in their local language. In this way, people can learn how to use them and hence, can enjoy them. Therefore, focusing on the development of products which are easily understood will encourage such people to use them in their daily life.

In conclusion, due to the complete advantages of technology on the aged citizens, organizations should make an attempt to develop products which can be handled by old generations. It is thus hoped that government will make some efforts to force industry to produce such products.