At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The change of population structure has become a major topic of concern in modern society. In some parts of the world, the young are account for a larger percentage than the elderly people in the total population. This essay will discuss on both the positive impacts and drawbacks of this phenomenon and lead to a reasoned conclusion.

On the one hand, no one can deny that the higher proportion of youth bring various benefits to the whole society. The most significant point is that the young generation is dynamic, energetic and can contribute to the production and job sectors of the country and this has a huge positive effects on the economic development of the country. They come with fresh ideas and are free from superstitions and traditional beliefs. This gives them a competitive advantage for the faster process of the country. Educated young generation is the best resource a country can have and their contribution to their nation is significantly higher than the participation of children and elder people. Taking ICT sector for an example, this field is full of fresh minds and this is considered the most prominent one for the development of a country, especially in this era, and this sector is globally led by the young. In addition, young adults can be better leaders. Nowadays, they are becoming an increasingly important part of the government. One reason is that their youth is a huge advantage which allows them to be creative and up- to- date. This is likely to result in many innovative breakthrough policies and styles of management.

On the other hand, it is argued by some people that increasing number of young adults can bring about some undesirable impacts. First, all of these young people are short of real experience. If they have not faced challenges in their career, they are more likely to make mistakes, which can affect lives of many people. Another point that is worth mentioning is that youngsters need jobs and if the country can not generate enough employment opportunities for its young population, it can be a problem. India, for instance, has a high number of unemployment rate since it has the highest number of individuals in the age bracket of 20-40 years. Joblessness can lead to the increase in criminal activities.

All in all, it is understandable that people have a difference of opinion about this heated trend. I personally opine that the merits of having more young people outweigh its detriments based on the positive changes they bring about in a society.