Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old houses in the local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style. Discuss and give opinion.

It is suggested that architecture in the same neighborhood should follow the traditional style to ensure uniqueness. However, i personally believe that such an idea seems impractical in the modern world, and that architecture freedom should be given to households.

Some people believe that the homogeneity of exterior design of houses could add a touch of beauty and uniqueness to the local area. Several old towns in the world have gained in popularity for their distinctive landscape of traditional houses against the back-drop of modern cities. Hoi An ancient town in Vietnam could exemplify this point as new houses in the town are constructed with yellow walls and a brown roof to blend with their surroundings. Although such an attempt is acclaimed for its contributions to the preservations of traditions and old architectures, i believe this is not a viable practice to be applied everyday. Since traditional houses are usually one-story tall with small rooms and narrow doors, they may be inappropriate for extended families and the different demands of households.

As opposed to the impracticality of such an idea, there are strong grounds for allowing people the freedom to design their houses as they wish. Compelling people to comply with one architectural style could, in some cases, be even unfeasible and even go against their freedom of choice. Besides that, only when people are allowed to design and decorate their houses to best meet their needs, do houses fulfill the real purpose of their existence as comfortable shelters for families. This is particularly the case for people who have a huge passion for having a distinctively designed or even bizzare- looking home as long as these houses make them happy.

In conclusion, i am firmly of the view that conforming to one traditional architecture is not a working idea in the modern world in which people's right to have their own home custom- designed to cater for their needs and preferences is protected by laws.