It is common practice for some students to take a gap year between high school and university in order to do charitable work abroad in underdeveloped countries.What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people of doing volunteer work?

There has been an ongoing trend of many youngsters from prosperous nations deciding to spend their time doing their voluntary work in underprivileged countries. This phenomenon is associated with both drawbacks and positive impacts on the students. This essay will discuss on these two aspects and lead to a reasoned conclusion.

On the one hand, no one can deny that dong volunteer work between high school and university brings various benefits to children. The most significant factor is that doing such unpaid work in poorer countries would be a comparative advantage for the young when applying for a job in the future. In other words, in this fierce and competitive job market, a candidate possessing an application accompanied by only great scores could not be the ideal one that a recruiter is finding; therefore; he or she needs outstanding voluntary experience to be able to surpass other rivals. Another point that is worth mentioning is that young generations could engender the feeling of community when participating in unsalaried work. It is apparent that the aforementioned meaningful work not only bring the doers unforgettable life lessons, give them hands-on experience but also help them expand their networks or relationships. Throughout these journeys of youth, they gradually grow more mature and confident, realizing the diversity of life by getting to know many walks of people.

On the other hand, the adverse effects of a gap year on students may overshadow the positive ones. Recent high-school graduates may have to face serious consequences once they have chosen to be gap-year takers. First, the young can be overwhelmed by the unwanted difficulties of the life out of school campus. For example, physically demanding charitable work can be exhausting for most school-leavers, and travelling to an exotic place may incur unsafe and tiring experiences. Moreover, to the youngsters without firm determination, a life without the discipline of formal schooling can be extremely addictive; and they may decide not to further their study after the gap year. As regards the whole society, this is an alarming issue because such decisions may lead to a scarce intellectual workforce.

To conclude, I personally believe that a gap year is associated with serious aftermaths such as the must of experiencing unnecessarily difficult situations. There are certain humanity values that can be gained, but most of these merits can be acquired in one’s later stages of life.