Some people believe that bicycles are the best mode of transport in the cities while others disagree Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both views and give your opinion

Cycling has been known as an effective way to improve physical health and improve the risk of obesity. While some people believe that nothing can compare to the utility of this simple transportation, some refute this notion. Both of these views will be discussed before my opinion is stated.

On the one hand, no one can deny the fact that cycling brings various benefits to people. Noticeably, bicycles are the most useful form of transport to combat against traffic gridlock as well as environmental damages, as many cities are suffering from traffic jam due to the increasing number of private cars or other modes of vehicles. Bicycles are tiny and need less space on the road, therefore, cycles could be the key tool curbing traffic congestion. Apart from that, it does not need gasoline, which means that cycles do not exhaust toxic fumes into the environment. So, not only does it reduce traffic jam, but also cycle does not cause meaningful pollution at the time of operation. In addition, Being a non-motorized transportation mode, the rider does not need to get a drivers’ license for it. The rider can ride on the bicycle at any time of the day and there are almost zero maintenance costs for the bicycle.

On the other hand, it is argued by many people that riding is uncomfortable for them. They allege that the small seat is unable to hold their body. Moreover, being a non-motorized vehicle, it requires more physical labor than expected. Besides, bicycles are not a good choice as a reliable mode of transport when the weather is adverse. For instance, bicycles do not have sheds and when it rains heavily, one cannot ride on it. They also argue on the point that biking can cause pain. Cyclists have to utilize their lower back in order to power and control the cycle. Consequently, back pain is common in cyclists.

In conclusion, it seems to me that on the whole the advantages of cycling on modern people are much weightier than the drawbacks based on a wide range of benefits they offer.