The media should include more stories which report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people contend that the media should attempt to convey more positive news to their audience. While I accept that delivering good news is beneficial, I believe there should be a balance between positive and negative information being shown on TV or other channels.

On the one hand, it is imperative to bring good news to viewers. Firstly, when receiving more positive information during the day, people can become more optimistic in their life. This improves their overall well-being, and they can enjoy their life more and have greater motivation for working or studying. Secondly, when the media reports news about good citizens who have accomplished something useful for the community, others will be stimulated to take the same action. For example, during the Covid-19 pandemic when many residents lost their income, a group of volunteers in Hanoi launched a campaign in which food and clothing were sent to needy people in deprived areas. This campaign was promoted widely on TV, which encouraged many other individuals to donate their money.

On the other hand, I believe the transmission of negative news is equally important. The first reason is that residents need to be aware of the threats going on around them, and they can therefore find ways to protect themselves and their families. For instance, when there is news about an accelerating number of cases of kidnapping in the area, parents will need to supervise their children more carefully when going out. Additionally, it is necessary for residents to acknowledge that there are still many acute problems such as pollution or corruption that need to be addressed, and they, as individuals, need to take drastic actions to mitigate these issues. If good news is dominant on the media, people may have a false belief that they do not need to do anything to improve the situation.

In conclusion, I believe that positive and negative pieces of news are equally crucial, and therefore they should share similar amounts of time on the media.