Countries should try to produce all the food for the population and import as little food as possible To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some people claim that countries should attempt to supply food for their own citizens and limit the importation of food from other areas. Personally, I strongly disagree with this idea because of several reasons which will be explained in this essay.

To begin with, it is nearly impossible to provide domestic residents with all the food they need. Firstly, due to geographical locations and climates, many countries find it hard to produce certain kinds of dishes. For example, those without coastal areas are not able to produce types of seafood such as tuna or lobsters. Therefore, if these countries decided to stop importing food, their citizens would have very limited options in terms of what to eat. Secondly, since many developed nations tend to focus on industrial and technological progress, they do not have enough workers in agriculture to generate a sufficient amount of food for their citizens.

At the same time, the importation of food is beneficial for everyone. First of all, nowadays, with more developed transportation systems, delivering food across nations is easier and cheaper, and this allows people to enjoy a variety of dishes coming from all over the globe. For instance, those in Europe can still eat tropical fruits such as mangoes and durians. Furthermore, thanks to the importation and exportation of food, each nation can focus on their own strengths. To be more specific, more developed parts of the world can allocate more resources to manufacturing industries, while less developed countries can invest in agriculture, helping farmers earn more income and improve their standard of living.

In conclusion, I believe it is almost impossible for countries, especially those in the developed world, to provide their local citizens with sufficient food. Thus, the importation of food should be encouraged, because it brings about a wider range of choices for consumers and helps nations concentrate on developing their key areas.