Today parents spend little free time with their children. Why is it the case? Who are more affected: parents or children?

These days, parents often allocate a lower amount of time to interacting with their little ones. This tendency happens because of some reasons and I believe that the impacts of this on children are more significant.

To begin with, parents' less time spent on their offspring is caused by some factors. The first one is that parents’ working schedules are getting more hectic. To illustrate, these individuals often work overtime so that they can raise their income. As the result, when these parents get home after a long day at work, they feel tired, stressed and prefer relaxing to spending time with their offspring. Secondly, due to the development of technology, parents tend to be attracted to content on social media. For example, these individuals usually spend hours seeing videos on Tiktok in their free time. Consequently, these parents might give inadequate attention to their little ones.

At the same time, there are several reasons why children are more affected when receiving less time from their parents. Firstly, this trend makes children receive insufficient care from parents. Therefore, they cannot share their problems such as pressure at school or friendship which may lead to some mental illnesses including depression or autism. Moreover, without guidance from parents, children may be inappropriate behaviors. For instance, they may engage in bullying and name-calling in the class. Finally, these young individuals can imitate activities that their parents perform in their spare time such as looking at phones or watching television. This might cause short-sightedness and obesity.

In conclusion, that parents spend less time on their offspring happens since these adults are busier and more fascinated by social media. Meanwhile, children experience more adverse impacts including the lack of parents’ care, displaying improper behavior and copying parents’ actions.