Millions of dollars are spent on space research every year. SOme people argue the money should be spent on improving living standards on Earth. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that people have different views in terms of the rold of space exploration when a great deal of money have been investing in this sector. In my opinion, while I agree that enhancing living standards of ordinary people is the top priority of the government, I believe that space research is equally important.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why pouring money into improving standards of living of inhabitants is far more pivotal. Firstly, it is true that many regions on Earth are enduring economical deprivation, which deserve immediate government funding. To illustrate, thoundsands of people in Africa, a country which is infamous for poverty, are starving in default of basic necessities such as food and even drinkable water. Money, therefore, could be diverted to this region to eluminate poverty and help the locals climb higher in social ladder instead of squandering on space programs. Besides, subsidizing educational facilities and quality could also be vital and desperately need investment from governments themself. Without investing heavily in such area, literacy and numeracy rate could decrease in the foreseeable future, not to mention national economy could also be in recession in the long run.

On the other hand, I believe that space research could benefit inhabitants as well to some extent seeing that i might help deal with overpopulation and natural resources crisis. It stands to reason that we human beings have been facing unprecedented overpopulation in many recent decades, which is a headache for governments. Conducting uniiversal travels could, therefore, bring a solution if austronauts could find other non-earth planets that accommodate the huge number of residents all over the world. Humans are also encountering the crisis with regard to natural recources scarcity such as rare metals and oil, which might abound in other planets. If, for example, these planets could be sought out, then it is highly likely that World Wars for the purpose of oil could no long exist.

In conclusion, it seems to me that although the mission to improve living standards of ordinary people is greatly important, the investment in space travel could also merit consideration.