Mobile phone and the internet could have many benefits for old people However this age group uses technology the least What are the benefits for old people of using mobile phones and the internet How can we encourage them to use this new technology

Nowadays, mobile phones and the internet have become very common among the individuals around the world. However, these facilities are not frequently utilised by the aged population. In this essay, we will analyse how usage of cellular phones and web can help them to communicate and fulfil their needs without travelling. Also, we will discuss how designing user-friendly applications and phones can encourage such people to use them.

To begin with, old people sometimes find difficult to travel a long distance. In this case, cell phones and internet can come to their aid by helping them to communicate with others without commuting. In addition, they can use these technologies for ordering the food or reserving their tickets and thereby, will avoid standing in long queues. Thus, it is evident that these people can take benefit of these facilities for staying in touch with relatives or family and even satisfy their daily needs.

In order to motivate these people for using such facilities, companies should concentrate on developing easy to use web applications or the phones. For instance, they can develop cell phone with the big keypad and the internet apps which provide information in their local language. In this way, old people will be able to understand how to use them and hence, can enjoy their use. Therefore, focusing on the development of products which can be easily understood will encourage such people to use them in their daily life.

In conclusion, the communication will be easier for the aged people with the use of this technology. For achieving this, organisations should make an attempt to develop products which can be handled by old generation. It is thus hoped that government will make some efforts in forcing industries to produce such products.