Mobile phone and the internet could have many benefits for old people. However, this age group uses technology the least. What are the benefits for old people of using mobile phones and the internet? How can we encourage them to use this new technology?

In the digital age, it is becoming profoundly beneficial for elderly people to use electronic devices. However, the technological use among the old is relatively irrelevant. I believe that using tablets and smartphones can bring about numerous advantages to old people and there are many plausible methods to enhance their use rate.

First and foremost, it is undeniable that mobile phones and the Internet can have some positive impacts on the lives of old people. The first worth-mentioning fact is that electronic gadgets are useful means of communication. Unlike young people, most of the old population can not travel regularly to meet their friends or families, which greatly prevents them from social interaction. Thus, owning smartphones and using social medias can help them have conversations online with their loved ones. Another perk of technological devices is that they allow old people to store their crucial information. It is common knowledge that people at high ages can struggle memorizing things because their brains function less efficiently compared to those of young individuals. For example, if an old person has trouble in remembering his home address, he can write it down an online note and save it in his smartphone.

On the other hand, the measures to increase the use of electronic devices within the old community are not far-fetched. One pratical solution is that the young people in the families need to make effort to guide their prior generations on how to use smart gadgets and the Internet. If old people are provided with detailed guidance and support in using smartphones, eventually they will be able to use these technology proficiently and frequently. In addition, many hospitals and nursing homes also have to take action in rising the awareness of old people about the benefits of technology. This means that they can host events or activities related to fundamental use of the social medias or applications on phones and tablets. In this way, the old can realize the usefullness and necessity of smartphones and gradually make use of these technologies in their lives.

In conclusion, even though the use of smartphones and the Internet of the old-aged group is considerably low, I strongly believe that using these technologies can immensely benefit old people and there are many practical solutions can be implemented to improve this situation.