Task 2: Some countries achieve international success by building specialised facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Is it a positive or negative development?

In the modern age, many individuals would advocate that constructing specialized amenities for professional sportspeople is more favourable than public provision of sport facilities. In my personal perspective, this is a negative measure towards society and the reasons behind it will be stated in upcoming paragraphs.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that focusing only on the improvement of athletes can bring about several advantages. The first worth-mentioning fact perhaps is that this will boost the performance of our athletes and increase their competency. As a consequence, it can lead to many victories and triumphs at national athletic competitions such as the Olympics. In addition, the government can also save time and effort regards to providing basic trainings for amateur sportspeople. For instance, if an athelete is already proficient at ground-based techniques in swimming, it will take less hours and resources to train them at intensive courses for competition.

On the other hand, equipping everybody with sports tools when needed is extremely crucial. Sports play a critical in our lives which affect our ability to learn and work more effectively. If every citizens have the right to practice sports in public places, it can increase our national health performance and thus, a more powerful work force and thriving economy. Furthermore, giving everyone the access to sports amenities can result in detecting many hidden talents which are likely to become successful athletes in the future. By contrast, if a person with excellent potential in sports but is unable to play sports due to the lack of facilities, he can not be discovered. This will be an enormous loss for society.

In conclusion, while numerous nations are achieving success by providing exclusive sports tools for existing athletes, I belive that opening sports facilities to the public would be a more beneficial option.