Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In the modern age, youngsters have a tendency to meet up people online rather than having a real-life converstation. In my personal view, social interaction in face to face situations bring about positive affect that online meeting can not replace.

Firstly, there are numerous reasons why adoslescents tend to socialise online. A primary cause is its availability. It is convenient for young people to chat and video call with their friends regardless of where they are. For example, long-distance couple who can not meet face to face regularly now can have conversations online every day thanks to technology advancement. Another possible reason is that online applications allow individual to make multiple friends online. This can help expand their social circles especially social platforms and dating applications are designed to connect people with same interests and hobbies.

On the other hand, overusing these online platforms to socialise can have some negative impact on our social life and it is important to have practical measures to tackle it. If a teenager use too much time chatting online, it can reduce the amount of his physical activity and relationship quality. This is because he will spend less time outdoor and lose physical touch with his loved ones. In order to encourage teenagers to meet their friends in person, parents can limit their time using electronic devices, by this way they will have to go outside to meet and catch up with their friends. We can also pursuade youngsters to join a social club or play sport which requires face to face gatherings. By this way they can improve their physical as well as mental health.

In conclusion, while online communication may benefit teenagers in certain way, I believe that we should take actions to encourage young people engage in person interaction.