Task 2: During holidays or weekends, young people spend less time on outdoor activities in the natural environment, such as hiking and mountain climbing. Why? What can be done to encourage them to go out?

In the contemporary era, it is becoming increasingly common for youngsters to spend their leisure time on outdoor activities such as trekking or hiking during. In my personal view, there are many possible causes of this phenomenon and several measures to provoke them do the opposite.

Firstly, the fact that teenagers tend to engage less in outdoor hobbies may come from numerous reasons. The first worth-mentioning cause perhaps is that they are using the Internet excessively, which takes up the most of their free time. Technological advancement has allowed young people to interact with their friends or play video games just by using their smartphones or computers, which can become addictive and time-consuming if there are no restrictions towards it. For instance, many studies have found that adoslescents spend 5-6 hours per day to use social media and this rate is continually rising each year. Furthermore, many environmental problems are occuring, such as air pollution, causing young people to suppose that the outdoor environment is toxic and they will be better off staying at home. All the mentioned factors can result in a sedentary lifestyle within young individuals community.

On the other hand, the solutions to this problem is not far-fetched. One plausible method is that parents can limit the screen time of their children, especially in the holidays or the weekends. This will force them to put their phones down and go outside to tạke up sport activities. In addition, many educational centers and universities should host more sport events for young people and raise their awareness about the benefits of spending time outdoors to their health and well-being. In fact, there are a considerable amount of schools have added this activity into their compulsory extracurricular module. Lastly, local businesses and governments should also take action by cleaning the natural air and sponsoring sport competitions in natural environment like moutain climbing and hiking marathons which are aimed at youngsters.

In conlusion, it is understandable that young individuals tend to enjoy indoor hobbies rather than spending time outdoors due to the Internet development and polluted environment. However, I belive there are many solutions to tackle this situation.