Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones Why is this case Do you think this is a positive or negative development

In the modern age, a lot of kids use their smartphones for hours on a regular basis. This tendency has many possible causes and in my view, using an excessive amount of gadgets will have an adverse impact on children’s development.

On the one hand, kids have a tendency to become dependable on the electronic devices. Using technology can benefit them in searching for new information, learning new knowledge, however, at the same time, they will neglect reading books and interacting with their caregivers for educational purposes. By this way, young children accidentally lower their reading and communicating skills, which will become essential later in their adult life. For example, studies have shown that, toddlers who are raised without the aid of technology, tend to have a more comprehensive development in terms of academic skills such as research and reading materials, than the ones who have early exposure to phones and computers.

On the other hand, phones can easily become addictive. In most cases, children will be addicted to smartphones if they use them for a long time without control. This will lead to an adverse effect to their personal development because they are willing to spend even 10-12 hours a day on the phone screen. This lead to lack of interaction and physical activity, which is critical in kids' growing stage.

In conclusion, when technology evolves, it is inevitable that children will spend an increasing time on smartphones and computers. I think this should be stricted because of many possible downside it may cause to children’s future skills and well-being.