Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives.

To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

There is no doubt that modern technology have transformed the people’s communication, so that the people spend less time seeing their friends. Some people think this has had a negative effect on their social lives, but not at all.

Looking back in the past, people communicated with friends via letters or phone. This took a long time to sent and wait for it. It is also quite expensive as the transportation cost. Especially, when someone is busy and in a far distance, it may be difficult to have a face to face meeting.

Nowadays, there are many modern forms of communication such as email, messaging, facebook and so on. There are much more convenient benefits. We can be in constant contact with all our friends. Getting information is faster. It is also cheaper and easier to keep in touch with other friends in different places. These modern forms allow us to send out voice, pictures and show his or her face who is talking to. This will make the conservation more interesting.

On the other hand, the way people connect to each other has changed greatly. Some people use the social media to acquaint with many friends so that they can have good relation to improve their social lives. However, someone use it to cheat the others. For instant, the trickish will use unreliable information to sell the wrong goods. Then they get the money illegal. They may inform unreal news about politician, health, education and so on. This can be a new crime, the electronic crime.

In conclusion, I believe that generally people's lives have got better. In my view, it is difficult to argue that developed communication has had a harmful influence on our social lives. On the other hand, we need to make sure that how we use it for.