Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not in others.

Some people therefore think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding.

Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, when there is a level-up in occupation variety, debates vary regarding whether government fundings should be invested in sponsoring students who take majors in social-related subjects and neglect the ones who go for other careers. In my opinion, this phenomenon brings a myriad of both benefits and drawbacks, which will be examined in this essay.

On one hand, it is undeniable that financially supporting students who opt for helping society might be advantageous. First and foremost, once fees are paid, students or learners living under the poverty line would certainly have an opportunity to achieve more satisfactory educational backgrounds. By freely entering their most favored college, they could possibly be more eager to make every effort, therefore, get excellent academic performance and help the labor market expand. Additionally, investing in students who choose subjects that are vital to society probably also encourages government and authorities to allocate fundings and use tax more efficaciously.

In contrast, this idea also causes a multitude of problems, such as the national budget’s decline and the loss of some occupations. To be specific, firstly, when financial distributions are only used for such majors, there will undoubtedly be an increase in the number of students studying lecturing or docturing, leading to a decline in the national budget. As a consequence, higher tax might be imposed on ordinary workers or private enterprises. Furthermore, having bias on society-related subjects could result in the disappearance of many jobs because students no longer think their dream jobs are necessary for society. However, without integral components, a cutting-edge machine cannot function properly, just like our modern world missing unknown street sweepers.

In conclusion, how beneficial distributing taxes and fundings to pay university fees is generally depends on which career fields are supported. While this policy is practical to help poor students to afford a better living-standard and foster proper allocations of fundings, it could bring about some issues such as reduced budget or losing jobs variety.