In the modern society, some people think that people are becoming more and more independent, while other people believe that they are more dependent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a controversial view about whether modern people become more and more independent or dependent. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the debate and give my own opinion.

There are several reasons why some people reckon that modern people become more independent nowadays. First, more and more people choose to live alone in modern cities to seek higher-salary jobs. Due to better opportunities in mega cities, young people leave away from their family and live in an unfamiliar environment which may push them to make decision on their own. Second, people live independently in order to cultivate their interests. Leaving away from family members who may often make comments on their hobbies, people can have enough freedom to enjoy what they like without parents’ chatter, in which way they can develop their own interests whatever they like.

On the other hand, however, it is reasonable that others think that modern people are more dependent than they used to be. They point that because of their complicated work, people need to rely on others. For example, people may face some work they could not finish in their copanies, while someone may finish them easily and quickly. At that time, the most efficient way to deal with this situation is to cooperate with each other as a team and then all members finish different parts they are good at.

To summarize, there is no doubt that modern people become more independent because their needs of finding satisfying jobs and cultivating interests. However, sometimes, people still need to rely on others if their work is beyond their abilities. Therefore, I hold the view that modern people are more and more independent.