In the modern world, the image (photograph or film) is becoming a more powerful way of communicating than the written word.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In our contemporary world we spend many hours on social media and other websites which are feeding us with thousands of images per day. While our attention is occupied by internet and its images, text becomes less powerful then before. This essay will discuss both visual and written information in more depth.

On the one hand, communication through images, movies and other visuals became effectively introduced through internet. People watching movies or video clips gets huge amount of information, but not necessarily have time to absorb and process it. Moreover, while our attention is occupied by huge amount of images per day, on each we spend just a split second without having our attention concentrated to one thing. For example, Facebook gives just a glimpse of other people lives while leaving it to your own interpretation.

In contrast, reading text gives us deeper understanding in one topic and gives us better knowledge about world. For example, reading book in which has been done deep research gives more information than movie could never supplement it. Visual communication can transfer information quicker than text, but it can not give more facts and details. Both these ways of communicating information can support each other.

In conclusion, books could never be replaced as a communication tool with visual information. Written text gives us more time to reflect and process information. Moreover, written text gives us deeper understanding about the world, while images does it in shallow way. Despite the fact, people are choosing easy way to get information without putting too much effort where outcome is adequate to it.