Money for postgraduate research is limited. Therefore, some people think financial support from governments should be only provided for scientific research rather than research for less useful subjects. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the budget for conducting research at a postgraduate level is limited. Therefore, it is felt that the government money should only be directed to science-related research instead of equally distributing it to all areas of research. I personally agree with this view for a few reasons.

Admittedly, one might argue that historical research is of great value to the society and thus should be funded decently. Archeological excavations and field studies can provide insights into the past and help explore extinct human civilizations better. The remains of the Maya tribe, for example, can teach valuable lessons on how those early humans lived and thrived. Consequently, those ancient findings seem to pay off the costs of research due to the influx of tourists who are willing to visit those places.

Nevertheless, investment in scientific research tends to have greater impacts than less useful subjects. Firstly, investigations in the field of astronomy can solve the global problem of overpopulation by exploring potentially habitable planets. Secondly, the chemistry research is likely to resolve such pressing issues as famine and soil erosion. In no way should this type of research be underfunded if we want to eliminate hunger, say by improving GM foods through chemistry. Ultimately, to deal with actual incurable diseases, such as HIV, infertility, and cancer, the role of postgraduate biological research is indispensable.

In conclusion, not only can sufficient investment into postgraduate scientific research assist to tackle global problems, but also can impact the future of mankind. Therefore, I believe that more funds should be channeled to this research instead of spending them on less important subjects.