Some scientists think that there are intelligent life forms on other planets and messages should be sent to contact them. Other scientists think it is a bad idea and would be dangerous. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Is there anybody out there in outer space? This question has been challenging scientists for many years. Considering that there are extra-terrestrial life forms, a group of cosmologists believe we should attempt to communicate with them in a certain form, whereas others claim that it is wrong and poses potential threats. I personally support the latter side of the debate and will explain why below.

Those who argue in favor of contacting aliens have sound reasons for doing so. One reason is purely scientific. Scientists theorized that the universe is many billions of years old, while life on Earth, according to them, did not begin as soon as heavens formed. This means that any form of life, if any, as old as our civilization or older could possibly help human race understand their and the universe’s origins. Another reason is that alien civilizations are likely to be highly advanced, maybe more than us. Humans could probably ask them for assistance in solving widespread problems, such as nuclear war and pollution, here on Earth.

There is the other side of the debate, however. I agree with opponents of the idea of sending signals for communicating with extra-terrestrial intelligent creatures. First and foremost, considering that scientists have established contact with them, we would still be unaware of language they speak nor their intentions; they might be malicious, and invade the Earth, possibly exterminating human race. Additionally, it is not workable, for there is a whole range of issues involved, ranging from costs to distance and time. I remember reading an article on the very topic which stated all attempts to contact a few hundred stars close to Earth have been futile. In this regard, resources being spent on this kind of research could be put to better uses here on Earth.

Trying to reach out to intelligent aliens has both pros and cons. Nevertheless, I am of the view that such research is useless and can prove life-threatening, the two reasons which outweigh any benefits this investigation might bring about.