Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign company. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give you own opinion.

Mastering a foreign tongue is now considered to be an essential part of many aspects of our lives. While some say that people learn it solely for traveling or working purposes, I side with those who believe that these are not the only reasons behind the acquisition of a new language.

There are some reasons why people connect language-learning with only traveling or work. Firstly, a decent command of a foreign language is a must for travelers if they want to express themselves clearly. Backpackers, for example, should be able to read street tabloids in a foreign tongue, communicate with locals in order not to be lost and explain their needs. Secondly, because international companies offer better employment prospects and salaries, experts regard foreign language proficiency as a nice opportunity to take their skills overseas. A skilled programmer, for instance, working for negligible wages in his home country will find it promising to work in, say, Google, having mastered the English language.

However, I agree with those who think that the reasons mentioned above are not the sole purposes behind learning a language. They are overlooking one of the most important motives, which is the educational one. Just by knowing a language, young people open doors to many educational opportunities. Almost all international universities now require foreign language proficiency proof to be obtained since this tongue will be the main means of knowledge acquisition. Consequently, these people will have a chance to study in world-class universities, such as Cambridge or Oxford, and get a high-quality education.

In conclusion, even though the main motivations behind learning a foreign language is thought to be only vocational or for traveling, I would argue that these are not the only reasons, because there is the educational purpose too.