More and more companies are allowing employees to work at home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

The problem related to increase of workers` productivity and quality of job has always been significant for employers. Nowadays the number of labors working from home is constantly growing. I am convinced that this tendency is positive due to the reasons marked hereinafter.

I strongly believe that online job is beneficial as far as it helps to save time and do not waste it on the road. To put it differently, due to globalization and traffic congestions, the time workers spend in transport going to their workplaces is high. For example, according to the survey held by Moscow Sociological University, overwhelming majority of city dwellers waste more than ten hours a week commuting to job. Thus, in order to save employees` precious time, managers may encourage their endeavour to work from home.

However veracious it sounds, I would not agree with the opinion that remote work is negative, due to its positive impact on labours` motivation and mood. Admittedly, if individuals do their job online, they will be possible to spend more hours with their family members. Therefore, an opportunity to be with the near and dear contribute to improvement of workers` spirits and provide more passion to labour. For instance, over the covid-19 pandemic, when almost all the office employees worked from home, spouses and children helped people to stay emotionally stable and not get depressed. Hence, emotional condition, which is considered to be significant for efficient work process, may be supported by the permission to do the job online.

To conclude, in my opinion, labour at home is a positive tendency due to the lack of necessity to waste extra time on transport. Moreover, it fosters to the improvement of employees mood and desire to work.