More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are controversies surrounding whether escalating the price of calorific food for reduction in the rate of obesity should be followed or not. From my own perspective, I fervently advocate this sentiment due to the limitation in the consumption.

Admittedly, the ineffectiveness is the ground why some people disagree with this suggestion. Strikingly, the potential customers who often use fat foods are inclined to get used to eating them. Therefore, they may find it difficult to give up notwithstanding the augmentation which makes them find ways to continue consuming those foods. For example, KFC fried chicken stores in Vietnam have increased their prices five times in a recent decade. Especially, its sales have not decreased, on the contrary, it has increased eight times since 2014.

By contrast, I lean forward to the benefit of implementing higher cost because of the restriction in the consumption. It is perceptible that the growth in greasy food cost means the amount of money spent per serving will increase compared to normal. As a result, numerous people who do not have prosperous income may be adversely affected when they cannot afford to buy and consume much. Consequently, this policy can reduce the frequency of using fatty food. Take the UK as an example, after 1 year of increasing the price of soft drinks, the amount of sugar consumed from sugary drinks decreased by 10% as well as reducing the number of obese girls aged 10-11 by 8% in 1 year.

In conclusion, albeit the issue about the effectiveness of this suggestion,, I believe that it should be done to cut down on the proportion of overweight people.