More and more people are not eating meals together with their family member.

Why is this?

Do the advantages outweigh the demerits?

Flexibilities are one strong reason people prefer to eat alone than together with their family member. While eating alone can be used to chill their lives, people using their own time more likely to express their emotions, surpassing the demerits.

Many people kick back to being alone because its flexibilities, as individuals are able to eat anything they want anytime anywhere without minding someone else. This is because they do not need to make a deal on what they want to eat with other people, although they are family member or friends, avoiding debate and quarrels that might be happened while making decision of food and restaurant. There is an evidence suggests that 78% of Indonesian people enjoy to eat alone at everywhere they are, this is because their leisure time to eat and their family are different since they have many contrast activities. Additionally, they do not want to be complicated with it.

What is more, two advantages from eating alone are to enjoy their lives in peace and express moods because its "me time". However, it deliver to antisocial behaviour and loneliness, and being lonely more often gives a rise to detrimental health of human mind. How to tackle this? Interacting with family member is required, and telling emotions to family member are suggested. Evidence suggests that 86% teenagers in Indonesia prefer eating alone to enjoy life by order expensive food as self appreciation, and sometimes they also able to release some emotions like crying while eating because of stress.

To conclude, it is agreed that the advantages of eating alone for people's is outweighing the disadvantages, expressing emotions and enjoying life. If possible, once a week eating together with family is necessary to keep the relationship.