More and more people are relying on cars as their preferable mode of transport. What are the problems associated with this overdependence .what can be done to control this ? Discuss effects and solutions also ?

The automobile means of transport has grown to a stage of dominance in the transport system worldwide. It remains the fastest means of transport on land, conveying people to their various points of destinations. However, it is not without grievous consequences to the passengers using it.

To start with, it is a popular knowledge that incidence of accidents associated with car transport is on the ascendency. Hardly will a day pass without reports of car accidents on our roads. Factors such as over-speeding on the part of the dirvers, poor road networks, driving after consumig acoholic drinks and unqualified drivers among others are the most common ones that often trigger road accidents. As a consequence, passengers involved in these accidents either lose their lives or get maimed for life, increasing dependency ratio on affected families and the countries in which they live. Valuable propertie passengers often travel with are either lost or destroyed as a result of the accidents. Statistics of National Road Safety Commision in my country has it that close to 2000 people died through road traffic accidents and not less than 6000 people get disabled through road traffic accidents, and these figures are projected to double in the next decade.

Besides, one creeping canker assoicated with car transport system is growing complexity of hypo-kinetic diseases such as obesity, hypertension, diabetes and cancers among others. People abhor such modes of transport as walking and cycling presumably because of the physical demand often associated with them. There should not be any reason for not engaging these modes of transport over short routes. However, this is the case. Even people prefer being in a car going to a toilet facility that is at stones throw. In point of fact, no energy is burnt when using car as a means of transport. In fact car transport is a passive means of transport and in that energy is not utilised but stored as fat resulting in unhealthy weight gain with its associated chronic diseases. According to the report of the Natonal Health Service, 60% of adults above 25 years have unhealthy weight, with 30% of them having diabetes and hypertension, a major emerging health burden with which the nation has to confront squarely. Food consumed is often burnt through cycling, walking, and running among others thereby keeping us healthy with controlled weight.

In view of the afore-mentioned consequences associated with car transport, it is essential that prudent measures be proposed to help curb the emerging situation. In the first place, The national Road Safety Commission in collaboration with the National Police Service and the Vehicle and Licensing Authority should be empowered with adequate resources and expertise to ensure that our drivers are genuinely qualified and punished sevrly when caught flouting road traffic rules and regulations. Additional state-of-the-art Roads should be constructed and existing road network be rehabilitated to the level for safe usage.

Another remedy is that, there should be public health education focusing on health consequences of using automobile means of transport all the time. Group walking and cycling could be a motiviation for people to use the lesser and more beneficial modes of transport especially over shorter journeys.

In conclusion, the automobile means of transport is not just fast and enjoyable but also poses major, socio-economic and health consequences to the users, hence proposing remedies to tackle the existing situations and curb the emerging risks, is absolutely essential.