Films and computer games containing violence are popular now. Some people think they have a negative effect on society and should be banned. Others think they are just a harmless relaxation. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There is no denying the fact that the electronic-based games of violent nature have gained popularity over the years and often make people, particularly the youth, populate various gaming centers to entertain themselves. It is therefore worth focusing attention on any impact these games might have on users in particular and society at large.

To set the ball rolling, a majority of people throng to gaming centers to either entertain themselves passively by watching without playing the games themselves or actively by playing the games themselves. Stress accumulated as a result of long hours of work is relieved leaving the beneficiaries with a refreshed mind and relaxed body for other work schedules. In fact, this buttresses the saying 'all work without play makes Jack a dull boy'. Productivity does not increase anywhere when the individuals involved in the work are fatigued without relieving stress. No wonder most companies have attached game centers where workers periodically take breaks and go to watch or play games of their choice in order to refresh their minds

Another positive benefit is that some electronic games do not only give recreational effect but are also monetized. Players of these games play for monetary rewards on winning events, and this could go a long way to augment their income. This is why there are numerous betting centers today where people go to play games such as roulette, chess, oware, just to mention a few in return for monetary rewards if their chosen event comes true.

Also, the saying that 'no man is an island' reinforces the importance of sociability and social connection. At gaming centers, people of all ages and from diverse backgrounds come together to play. As a result, new friends are made and skills of social relations are developed. Undoubtedly, an environment of friendship is created and risk of hostility and violence emanating from individuals who do not know you is drastically minimized.

On the contrary, admirers, and players of these violent games may put to use what they see being performed on the computer screens. As the saying goes 'you are what you eat', most of these people will definitely practice what they learn and see on the computer screens. No wonder society is rife with illegal possession of weapons such as guns and knives among others. They shot and stab innocent people at the slightest provocation, and this is a reflection of what is happening in the world today.

It is also not less in importance to state that addiction to these electronic grames is growing at a fast pace. Many people, particularly the youth, spend virtually all day at these gaming centers and as a result, they get addicted to gambling, losing monies they cannot afford to lose. No wonder today, suicidal tendencies among people who play these games are rife. Recent health statistics reported that more than 30% of the youth aged 20 and above who spend hours watching and playing violent films and games develop addictions and psycho-social defects, hence need assistance to come out it. Presumably, this could negatively affect their academic work and performance.

Last but not the least, violent films and video games have a tendency to erode the moral values of individuals who play them. As morality is a direct opposite to actions and content shown by these films and games, and the more people are exposed to these violent games, less attention is given to morality. Undoubtedly, this consequence has a potential to corrupt the entire society with violence. Why are there an increasing number of Christian denominations and other religions, yet violence is widespread? Was this the case in the olden days? The negative effects continue unabated.

Conclusively, there is no doubt in declaring my stance for those who call for the ban of films and computer-based games of violent nature as their negative effects outweigh their benefits.