More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation.

Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

Recently, the trend of owning or depending on a private car is rising and majority of people are using it as the main source of transportation. People born in mid 20th century, can clearly indentify the difference of owning a car, it was been a luxury and a possesion than to fufill their neccessity. Whereas, today every home has a privately owned car or motorcycle.

To begin with, having a car of our own has some benefits in terms of priacy and provides immense comfort during travel. On the contrart, it brings some devestating environmental problems, for instance, global warming, traffic, deforestation to build new roads to cope up with rising cars. Over-dependence on car use not just affects the environment but also the living beings in it. Humans face serious health issues such as a respiratory and skin illness because of exposure to the smoke released by them and also by the smog in big cities.

Environmentalist and social activist had always been cautious and warned the government, but plans and laws to reduce the drastic effects are recently formulated and followed in most of the countries. Strict regulations on car manufacuters, as well as on the consumers, monitoring the number of cars owned by a family, increasing the tax for buying new cars should be implemented, which will have positive impact. Construction of better inter city rail roads, increasing the frequency of buses , using shared vehicle and also encouraging people to use public transportation are realiable solutions

I strongly believe, bringing changes in such situations needs cooperation between government and the people. Government should be more flexible and plan for long term goals and people should follow the rules and regulations which brings prosperity for the country and the environment as a whole.