Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits.

To what extent do you agree ?

Genes play a major role in building a basic architecture of people’s personality and character traits. But, I believe there are few things where we as an individual has an ability to alter and restructure our character based on our experiences, we learn throughout our life.

Genes are not only the blueprint of our personality, but it is the fundamental unit of life that holds all the information needed for an organism to form and exist in this world. All the living organisms have their pair of chromosomes, genes, and DNA, which has a plethora of diversities. Inheritance of a Personality is a broad topic with much complexity, and for a better understanding we need to incorporate the knowledge based on scientific research and should not rely only on the biased side of personal opinion. Some involuntary activities like the way people speak, walk, run and other activities are directly influenced by the genes from their parents.

To a certain degree even before people are born, their personalities are preplanned and set in place to be executed accordingly. On the contrary, due to certain Biological, Social, Psychological and environmental reasons, they will try to adapt and develop new personality traits or even get rid of their own character traits. For instance, Suicidal tendencies and depression are said to be inherited and hence a person may experience suicidal thoughts in their lifetime. Nevertheless, if they understood the repercussions of such thoughts by taking proper medical guidance and with prognostic behavioral modifications they can even build a character mechanism which act opposite to their inherited character trait.

Hence, I firmly believe that genes have an enormous role in constructing our basic structure, but Human has the ability to learn and overcome certain aspects of those inherited traits with appropriate stimulus and constant effort.