More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation.

Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

Majority of people are using their own vehicles for fulfil the regular transport needs. Over using private cars may cause some problems including, Environmental pollution and traffic congestion. I believe, imposing more taxes on cars and encourage travelers for public transport can be minimized the problem.

The higher rate of vehicle usage may badly impact for the environment whereas the people lost the fresh air at the atmosphere. As a result of greater amount of carbon dioxide in vehicle fumes cause for breath diseases. In addition, huge number of personal vehicles are being resulting for road traffic. This leads inconveniences for the travelers and wasting their valuable time inefficiently. The recent research done at Colombo university social science faculty reveals, 80% of regular travelers suffered by daily road traffic.

In order to avoid the high carbon dioxide emission by fumes of vehicles, the number of transports should be limited. People are more likely for private vehicles as it is convenient and saving time compared to the public transport. In addition, when commuters highly influence on public transport would bring a perfect solution for the traffic congestion. Not only this discourage the private transportation, but also more benefits can be seen which have less detrimental effect for the environment. On the other hand, government can impose heavy taxes for cars to limit the private transportation.

To conclude, although people depending more on private transport at their daily travels, I believe public transport should be introduced to use for the majority of commuters to minimize the traffic as well as protect the surrounding pollute by vehicle fumes.