More and more people claim that modern work patterns are a source of stress. What do you think are the cause of this? Can you suggest some possible solution?

The way modern people work nowadays may give a rise in the popular belief that it is the main factor leading to the increased stress of inhabitants. While i partly agree with the detrimental impacts of modern working on people, i am firmly of the view that there are more important reasons which should be blamed for the growing level of stress rates among citizens. A few reasons will be discussed before some feasible measures are recommended to tackle this heated issue.

On the one hand, no one can deny the fact that stress is subjective to the heavy workload to some extent. Currently, the modern work environment is very flexible and certainly more demanding in many ways due to increased global competition and the desire to satisfy consumers instantly. This creates the need for fast, flexible working practices in order to respond to such demand. Technology and mobility are possible the greatest drivers of change in the workplace at the moment. The ability to work from home or in the field by accessing data and resources using smartphones, tablets and laptops, means that many people do not have such a structured work schedule anymore. They may be on call or available to their clients or customers for a greater part of each day. As there is no escape from always- on connectivity, workers now can never get away from their work and problems. Even when they are on a vacation, few people can resist the temptation to check their work emails. In addition, modern citizens tend to devote virtually their whole of work to ensure material well- being, which means that they may spend less time to gather together with their family to wind down, especially when the work timing is different. That drives people to feel lonely or stressful since they get no assistance from their beloved ones in the crisis time.

On the other hand, i personally opine that personal activities should be recognized as a more crucial factor making people vulnerable to lots of pressure. People now show a tendency of immersing themselves in social networks rather than real- life circle of friends. Moreover, while in the past, people enjoyed outdoor or kinesthetic activities, modern people prefer spending time on their Ipads or smartphones. It has been reported in many research findings that the lack of real world relationship and physical exercises can add to the feelings of being stressed.

As serious as the problem may seem, some definite actions can be taken to address this problem. The key to beat stress is to look for meaning in life. Instead of rushing after material gains, we should look inward and connect with our own nature. Setting priorities is equally necessary. We should ask ourselves what we want to achieve in life and head towards them at our own pace. Besides, i think a good therapy could also be doing some yoga, going to the gym, having a good massage and why not go for a small break.

In conclusion, even though the work pressure and people's daily habit make modern people stress out a lot, the issue could be bridged if we thought positively and did not give stress the power of being a part in our lives.