More and more people prefer to read ebooks rather than paper books.

Recently, a lot of people start to use e-books more frequently than to use traditional paper books. This essay will discuss the reasons of this phenomenon including portability and an effort to fight deforestation. This essay will also suggest that libraries will no longer develop and eventually close due to this trend.

To begin, e-books are easier to be carried than paper books are. The main reason is that a single electronic device can store a lot of books while paper books cannot be compressed in a similar way. Additionally, people do not need to use paper to read e-books. As a result, there is no necessity to cut down trees anymore, which is absolutely detrimental for the environment. Hence, it seems reasonable that people choose to read books using their gadgets rather than doing in the old way.

However, this trend will bring about repercussions to libraries around the world. Most obviously, many owners will think that library maintenance is irrelevant. If libraries are not looked after in a long period of time, they will need to be shut down. A recent study by Stanford University’s researchers, for example, found that more than 1000 libraries have been closed this year. Therefore, in the future, libraries will not exist due to the increasing usage of e-books.

In conclusion, this essay argued that people tend to use e-books for the sake of its mobility and saving our Earth. Nonetheless, this habit will give rise to libraries being ignored, which ultimately leads to their demolishment.