More and more people want to own famous brands of cars, clothes and other items. What are the reasons for this? Is this a negative or positive trend?

These days, one of the intellectually challenging preoccupations among the multitudes is the issue of purchasing stuff ranging from cars to clothes, which are produced by worldwide popular brands. I am of the firm conviction that buying luxury goods from famous brands bears more demerits than merits elucidated below.

The first and foremost reason is that a vast majority of individuals, especially affluent young adults and teenagers, are inclined to wear trendy and stylish clothes from leading brands in order to look fashionable, attractive and eccentric among their peers and also enhance their appearance. In other words, they are willing to follow fashion and the newly-launched products from global top brands, then put effort into purchasing a wide variety of them so as to flaunt and emulate, for instance BMW, Iphone cell phones, Mac cosmetics, Nike shoes and so forth. Despite the foregoing reasons, such a measure has some drawbacks, two of which are raised in the following paragraphs.

These days, the excessive demand for luxurious articles of popular brands has been increasing dramatically all around the world .Due to being stylish, not only does almost every individual allocate a chunk of time to following fashion but also they waste their time, which is the precious commodity in today’s world. Through such a measure, a plethora of people will be prone to squander their time on browsing the newest and unwanted items of various brands from different sites or shops. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Had I not spent my valuable time on buying well-known goods five years ago, I would have put my money aside.

Furthermore, a great passion about owning the invaluable commodities of the leading brands would be accompanied with negative and adverse effects on every singular person due to the fact that it might lead them to be distracted from education. Moreover, those who have desire to possess the stuff of top brands will be less likely to pursue their academic education at prestigious universities ,and also 80 percent of them quit their study at initial levels according to the new research published by American Sociological Association in the year of 2018.

To sum it up, to my mind, interests in owning articles of popular brands not only may result in distracting public’s attention from other matters such as education but also will lead to wasting their time. Hence, I do believe that the dark sides of this issue outnumber the bright sides.