More and more prisons are being built to house the world's criminals, many people believe long-term imprisonment is the answer to solving the crime problem. However, others feel that psychological assistance is what is required. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent times, more and more prisons are being erected to become houses to crimes around the world. It is believed that a key to crime problem is a long duration of imprisonment, whereas the other think that there are some better alternative ways of reducing crime such as medical and psychological therapy. In my viewpoint, I agree with the second opinion, and this essaay will discuss both points of view.

On the one hand, many people feel that criminals should be in prison for a long period of time in order to tackle with crime issue. Admittedly, long-term imprisonment offenders from committing more illicit activities and doing harm to society. However, I suppose that putting them in jail for a long time does not completely reducing crime rate. Imagine a person engaging in a murder, he receives a long duration prison sentence in order to be deterred from doing more wrong things, but there still be more and more people follow his footsteps, do the same things as him, so the percentage of delinquency would not only not diminish, but would increase even more. Furthermore, if prisoners stay in prison for too long, they will have a sense of frustration and traumatic, especially those who have poor mentality.

On the other hand, I think there are some better ways to address this problem by putting medical and psychological aid. One of the reasons is that those therapies could help them to alleviate their physical and mental problem. Obviously, there are many prisoners have terrible memories in prison that impact adversely their mind. Gradually, those memories wowuld turn to obsessions, and make them feel traumatic and anxious. When they receive medical and psychological treatment, they recover and come back to their normal life. Hence, treatment of both mental and physical illnesses can be a suitable method, helping patients to gain their conciousness and reintegrate with the community.

In conclusion, many people believes the best way to reduce crime is to sentence crimes to long duration imprisonment, so that they can be prevent from committing more wrong doings and posing threats to society. In my opinion, people taking part in illegal activities can be better if they receive psychological and medical help.