More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in foreign countries.

Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

Education has been playing a vital role in a success of every individual. Higher education that obtained overseas is becoming increasingly desirable for students. Although a person can encounter diverse cultural issues living in a foreign country, I strongly believe that communication with representatives of other nations can leave a significant trace in a human’s mindset.

Studying abroad forces students to interact with other nationalities, which have different traditions, rules, and acceptable behavior. Due to these, a person might find that their expectations from people and people’s expectations from they do not match, making communication difficult. Such troubles may result in problems in studies, as university’s employees may find foreigner’s behavior to be disrespectful or rude. For example, the way people greet each other in western culture are considered as an offense in asian countries. Thus, students must be aware of local cultural traditions in order to stay polite.

On the other hand, international environment provides a number of opportunities to broaden the mind. Individuals from various parts of the world have different experience that they can share, unique live stories that can be valuable. Therefore, interaction with foreigners teaches a variety of viewpoints on the same things from different angles. For instance, the times higher education organisation has reported about strong positive correlation between average alumni reputation and international students ratio in universities. In other words, bigger diversity entails better life experience for members.

In conclusion, studying overseas leads to a number of problems caused by different cultures. However, I insist that interaction with persons from other countries aids personal development of everyone, which is more important.