More and more wild animals are on the verge of extinction and others are on the endangered list. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

The number of wild animals dying out is increasing with others facing complete endangerment.This essay elaborates some of the causes for this trend and the possible solutions.

Interferences of mankind with nature and natural resources has been the root cause of extinction. In an attempt to accommodate the ever growing population people have resorted to destructive activities to make room for themselves. For instance massive deforestation has seen the loss of a lot of animal species as most of them are killed in the process. People have gone as far as encroaching animal parks to set up building's and infrastructure. Owing to this the animals are left exposed and vulnerable which subsequently leads to the second major cause of extinction which is poaching. Animals are poached and unnecessarily killed for parts of their body or for food. To illustrate the number of rhinos in Africa's has vastly reduced over the years because they are hunted for their horns which some people consider really precious in monetary value.

Fortunately,these problems are not without solutions. To begin with,the problem with deforestation can be curbed by the government imposing strict policies against deforestation. For instance there should be tough restrictions against infringing a forest to harvest timber. The other way to reduce extinction is to build sanctuaries and protected parks for animals and most especially the almost extinct ones. This would ensure they're always protected .Moreover strict laws should be passed to come up with ways of punishing poachers. As a way of illustration, in Kenya, Poachers were at times made to eat the animal they killed raw. This saw a drastic reduction in the number of poachers.

In conclusion, even though rampant deforestation and poaching are threatening the existence of some animals, Imposing strict laws and protecting of animals can help reduce this problem.