More people today are overweight than ever before. What are the primary causes of this? What measures can be taken to overcome this epidemic.

The world is witnessing an increase in the population of people gaining excessive weight. This essay will outline a number of reasons for this trend and a number of possible ways to help curb the obesity epidemic.

There are several causes of obesity. First and foremost, many people nowadays eschew healthy food in favor of fast food. Given the fact that junk food not only contains high levels of fat and sugar but also may not provide essential nutrients for the body, the consumption of this type of food on a daily basis could lead to weight gain. Additionally, a sedentary lifestyle could be another reason for the growing population of overweight people. For instance, many people have jobs that involve sitting at a desk for most of the day, and they tend to stare at the television and computer screens in their spare time. These people rarely take regular exercise; therefore, they are prone to obesity.

There is a variety of measures could be implemented to tackle this problem. One viable solution is the imposition of heavier taxes on junk food. Furthermore, governments should run more health awareness campaigns which aim at making the public aware of the fact that fast food is detrimental to our health and taking exercise more is of paramount importance to maintain a healthy weight. Another feasible solution is to build more parks and sidewalks to facilitate exercise. These solutions would incentivize people to consume more nutritious food instead of fast food and spend more time to take part in sports.

In conclusion, the excessive consumption of fast food and a lack of physical activities are two primary reasons why people become overweight. However, I strongly believe that there are several measures, as listed above, to address this problem.