More people today are overweight than ever before. What are the primary causes of this? What measures can be taken to overcome this epidemic.

The world is witnessing a drastic increase in the number of people gaining excessive weight. In this essay, I will outline a number of reasons for this trend and suggest a number of possible ways to help curb the obesity epidemic.

There are several causes of obesity. First and foremost, many people nowadays are eschewing healthy food in favor of fast food, which may cause them to put on weight. Given the fact that junk food not only contains high levels of fat and sugar but also does not provide adequate essential nutrients for the body, the consumption of this type of food on a daily basis could lead to weight gain. Secondly, a sedentary lifestyle is to blame. For instance, many people have jobs that involve sitting at a desk for most of the day, and they tend to be glued to the television and computer screens in their spare time. These people do not take regular exercise; therefore, they are prone to obesity.

However, there is a variety of measures could be implemented to tackle this problem. One viable solution is to levy higher taxes on junk food. Furthermore, governments should run more health awareness campaigns which aim at making the public aware of the fact that fast food is detrimental to our health and taking more exercise is of paramount importance to maintain a healthy weight. Another feasible remedy is to build more parks and sidewalks to enable people to get into the habit of exercising. These solutions would encourage people to consume more nutritious food instead of unhealthy food and spend more time taking part in sports.

In conclusion, the excessive consumption of fast food and a lack of physical activities are two primary reasons why people become overweight. And I believe that the proposed solutions should be taken to solve this problem holistically.