Some people say we do not need to use printed paper newspapers anymore? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the light of the proliferation of online news outlets, traditional press has been marginalized and is considered no longer necessary. While online news is superior to printed news in many aspects, I believe that the latter will never be completely replaced.

It is understandable why people are eschewing printed newspapers in favor of their online counterparts. The key driving factor behind this trend is that reading news on the Internet is much speedier. Instead of going to a newsstand to buy newspapers, people today can access news almost instantaneously on their mobile devices using Internet connection. Another reason is that online news is virtually free. Most news websites do not charge readers, which discourages many from buying traditional newspapers.

Despite the aforementioned benefits of online news, I believe that there are several compelling reasons why printed news cannot be eliminated. First, it is clear that a large number of people have a strong preference for this form of media. For example, elderly people who are not accustomed to reading on a digital screen due to their poor eyesight usually favor traditional papers. Furthermore, the disappearance of printed news may cause far-reaching repercussions for many industries. For example, the waning demand for printed newspapers may for publishing houses and logging companies to lay off staff, triggering mass unemployment.

In conclusion, while the advantages of online news are irrefutable, I believe that printed publications still have a role in society.