In most countries, prison is an effective solution for the problem of crime. Some people think it is a more effective solution to provide a better education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that a prison sentence system can effectively deal with issues of crime. While I accept that this penalty can reduce rate of crime, I agree that education reform can bring more advantages to help mitigation of lawbreaking behaviours.

On the one hand, putting criminals in jail as a punishment can be recognised as an efficient deterrent. This is because individuals have a fear of being deprived of their freedom. In prison, criminals should be entirely under surveillance and refrain from contacting their friends and families. Green island, in particular, in Taiwan has the most restrict prison system and those who commit a crime are absolutely isolated from their communities. Due to this fact, numerous offenders who used to be in that jail keep their promises and declaim that they will not commit any illegal acts.

On the other hand, improving education systems can be more effective to alleviate the deterioration in development of criminal behaviours. It is evident that the offenders do not gain a good quality of education, negatively influencing their mental and cognitive development during their childhoods. Furthermore, these people are not driven to cultivate normative behaviours. Statistics show that there is high rate of crime in developing nations as the local people not receiving a better education view violence as a normal behaviour. Therefore, provided that the education is paid great attention by the authorities, few people will become criminals.

In conclusion, although sentencing people to prison can solve the criminal problems, I believe that education is a priority to successfully decrease the rate of crime.