most countries want to improve their standard of living through economic development, while others think social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many countries want to develop their economy in order to improve people’s living standard. However, some people hold the view that the consequence of this situation is the loss of social values. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the debate and seek a conclusion.

To begin with, it is undeniable that economic development may better satisfy people’s daily needs. With higher salary which are provided by better economy, people have more budget to purchase daily goods such as clothing and foods. What is more, their lifestyle can be improved by traveling abroad and other entertainment ways they used to have no chance to enjoy. In addition, with the high-speed development of economy, people can enjoy better vital public services such as public transportation and medical services since governments have enough fund to update them.

On the other hand, however, some people fear that modern people will become more materialistic and less altruism because of the development of economy. When their daily life is associated only with wealth, people seem to care little about other parts of the society such as helping others and team spirits. For example, they spend all day in working and then care nothing about people around them. Besides, people also will face the problem of family relationship. It is noticeable that people become indifferent in modern life, and the potential cause is their busy job which takes up their daily life and makes them have no time to interact with their family members.

To summarize, theire is no doubt that development of economy can maintain people’s daily needs as it can provides higher salaries for people to enjoy their life. However, it will have negative impacts on social values too, such as being more materialistic and less altruism and alienating with their family members. In the final analysis, I believe that the advantages of economic development are more than the disadvantages.