Most people accept that we now live in a globalized world but not everyone agrees that it is beneficial.

To what extent is globalization a positive or negative development?

In the last decades, the world witnessed a trend of globalization, which means the ties in a range of areas such as politics, economy and culture have been strengthened than ever before. But now all the people hold a positive view towards this issue. Personally speaking, I think the benefits of globalization outweigh the drawback it brings.

On one hand, globalization has improved global economic significantly. A global economy means free trade between countries. Goods are produced in one country and being exported and sold in many other countries. For example, China produces a large amount of products every year and America is the largest importer of China. China can earn profits from exporting and in the meantime, American can enjoy cheaper products. Thus, both two countries can benefit from global trading. Moreover, globalization could reduce poverty in the developing world. An increasing number of multi-national companies are opening factories in developing countries, in this way, more opportunities are being created. Consequently, the standard of living in these countries can be effectively improved.

But every coin has two sides, on the other hand, there exists some drawbacks of globalization and should not be neglected. To begin with, it has been exposed that some multi-national enterprises exploiting workers in developing countries. Due to imperfect local legal system, the rights of worker cannot be guaranteed. In addition, global trade creates pollution. For instance, sea transportation is a common way for transporting goods in global trading, but cruises used for transportation may leak fuel and cause ocean pollution as a result.

In conclusion, considering the contribution of globalization, I think it has more merits than its demerits. Negative impacts of globalization can be avoided as far as possible by imposing laws and regulations by governments.